Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Athletics' Year Culminates with Awards Banquet

Athletics' Year Culminates with Awards Banquet

DECATUR, Ga.—The setting sun peeking through the Leticia Pate Evans Dining Hall windows was a perfect, symbolic backdrop to the 2019 Agnes Scott Athletics Awards Banquet on Thursday evening. The Agnes Scott Athletics Department celebrated the accomplishments and victories of both teams and individuals during the ceremony, as the 2018-19 academic year comes to a close.

Athletics director Allison Kern, finishing her first year at the helm of the department, offered a warm anecdotal welcome before handing out a plethora of awards to representatives from all six Scottie programs.

Senior dual-sport student-athlete Zoey Perchaluk (Fort Erie, Ont.) earned the prestigious honor of being named Agnes Scott Athletics Sportsperson of the Year after concluded a four-year career in both soccer and basketball. Perchaluk earned conference seasonal awards twice in her career, being recognized for her tireless effort in both sports.

Jessica Costero (Miami, Fla.) was honored with the Lauren Giddings Leadership Award thanks to her high-character approach to softball team dynamics.

Jordan Keesler's (Trenton, Ga.) fingerprint on campus has been left in very important spaces since arriving on campus three years ago, earning them the Ambassador Award.

First-year Damira Augustin (Dacula, Ga.) earned the other major award given, Rookie of the Year. Augustin led the Scotties in all statistical categories while always playing against an opponent's top player in the lineup.

Dr. Carolyn "CC" Cornelison, assistant director for recreation and intramurals, was honored twice with the SAAC Staff Award—voted on by SAAC student-athletes—and the Staff Award.

Miranda Moore (Cross County), Annice Wyatt (Soccer), Bella Kammerer (Volleyball), Morgan Pearson (Volleyball), Perchaluk (Basketball), Kayla Quesenberry (Softball) and Gabrielle Santilli (Tennis) were all named coaches award winners by their respective teams.

Team MVP's included Allyssa Willis (Cross Country), Alissa Wheeler (Soccer), Tiara White (Volleyball), Garis Grant (Basketball), Kayla Spinks (Softball) and Augustin (Tennis).

To stay up to date on all things Agnes Scott Athletics, follow the Scotties on social media on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.


Athletics Awards Banquet 2019